The official website of Horizon City

Planning & Zoning

The Planning & Zoning Commission was created pursuant to Section 211.007 of the Texas Local Government Code, the Horizon City Planning and Zoning Commission for the purpose of researching and establishing building codes, zoning codes, subdivision planning, and all other relevant building standards for construction and reconstruction within the Horizon City Town limits.  Under the Zoning Ordinance No. 0102, the Town Planning and Zoning Commission shall have sole authority to make recommendations to the Town Council on changes to the Master Plan or to the Zoning Ordinance.  Town Planning and Zoning Commission shall inform Town Council of any significant recommendations received by the Commission pertaining to the Town of Horizon City.

The Planning and Zoning Commission is composed of nine (9) members appointed by City Council and shall serve for terms of two (2) years.     If you are interested in serving as a Planning and Zoning member, please submit the application as consideration for the next term.

Town’s Current P&Z membership

The Chairperson has established a regular schedule for meetings, however the Board or Chairperson may call special meetings, move meetings due to conflicting schedules or cancel meeting where there are no matters to be heard.  Meetings of the Planning and Zoning Commission are held at the City Council Chambers located at 15001 Darrington Rd. (Police Dept. & Municipal Courts Bldg.) every third (3rd) Monday of the month at 6pm.

Click here to view the 2024 Boards & Commissions Meetings schedule.

For more information on submittal periods and deadlines of applications not listed; please contact:

Planning Specialist & Board Secretary
Elizabeth Luna
Phone: (915) 852-1046 ext. 404

Planning Director
Michelle Padilla
Phone: (915) 852-1046 ext. 105

Translate »